social facebook
social twitter
social linkedin
social youtube

home-icon contact-us-icon directory-icon search-icon

login-icon join-now-icon

social facebook social twitter social linkedin social youtube

pdfPress Release - Fredericton Chamber Welcomes Stephen Hill as President - 25 June 2015 (PDF - 116 KB)

25 June 2015 - For Immediate Release

FREDERICTON, NB – The Fredericton Chamber of Commerce held its 2015 annual general meeting on Thursday June 25 at the Fredericton Convention Centre. His Worship, Mayor Brad Woodside was in attendance to affirm seven new board members as well as Stephen Hill, Partner with Matthews, McCrea, Elliott as president. Mr Hill succeeds Joseph O’Donnell of National Bank Financial, who moves into the role of past president.

With his outgoing remarks, O’Donnell reflected on his goals for the past year, including chamber growth, having a closer relationship with the area’s First Nations communities and helping businesses make connections with international opportunities. To this end, over the past year chamber officials have met with official representatives from Egypt, Belgium, Indonesia, Thailand, Mexico and the US. O’Donnell will remain on the board of directors as past president for 2015-16.

O’Donnell also presented the chamber’s President’s Award, given at the outgoing president’s discretion to a board member that has gone above and beyond expectations in contributing to the chamber’s success. This year’s recipient was Karen Grant of Kiers Marketing Group. Ms Grant was a first-year board member in 2014-15 and has agreed to join the chamber executive in 2015-16. She chaired the Fredericton chamber’s successful bid for the Canadian Chamber of Commerce annual conference in 2017 and will continue to chair the conference committee in addition to sitting on the chamber’s Business Excellence Awards selection committee.

Hill’s introductory remarks focused on continuing the work done by past boards and presidents, expanding relationships with key partners such as Planet Hatch, Opportunities New Brunswick, Ignite Fredericton and the Atlantic Chamber of Commerce. Hill also stressed the importance of member involvement in the chamber, including volunteering for committees, attending events and taking advantage of benefits such as access to a group insurance plan, professional development opportunities and discounted merchant services.

The newest members of the chamber board are: Jason LeJeune, Isaac’s Way Restaurant; Jill Stairs, EPR Daye Kelly & Associates; Rick Allen, Quality Engineered Solutions; Victoria Andrews, CIBC; Dave Watt, Exit Realty Advantage; Bronwyn Mulherin, Downtown Optometry Clinic; Roger Bannister, Retreever Tactical Business Consulting.

The outgoing board members in 2015 are: Chris Johnston, Picture Your Health Medical Imaging Centre; Jill Dickinson, Clowater’s Plumbing & Heating; Dolores Whalen, LuminUltra Technologies; Haley Flaro, Ability NB; Lynn Fullarton, Optimized Planning & Interiors; Doug Williams, King Street Alehouse/Brewbakers Restaurant.

With more than 950 members, the Fredericton Chamber of Commerce is one of Atlantic Canada’s largest  chambers  of  commerce.  A  dynamic  business  organization,  the  Fredericton  Chamber  of Commerce   is  actively  engaged  in  policy  development  that  affects  the  competitiveness   of  our members and of the Canadian business environment.

Contact: Krista Ross, CEO – (506) 458-8006

364 York Street, Suite 200, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, E3B 3P7
E-mail:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   Website:  www.frederictonchamber.ca
Tel: (506) 458-8006 Fax: (506) 451-1119